Piraeus was the mightiest sea port in all ancient Greece, yet few visitors to Athens explore this sea side city except to get on or off a ship. Traces of Piraeus’ glory days are visible throughout the nine kilometer bike ride (5.5 miles) along the Piraeus coastal road. Most important are the fortification walls, initiated by the populist General Themistocles, one of which protected travelers from the port all the way to the Acropolis in Athens.
The bike tour stops several times for up to ten minutes at different points along the ancient walls to hear the bike guide explain Piraeus history and to take photographs. The bike tour makes two hour long stops, once at the distinguished Piraeus Archaeology Museum and another at Zea Marina a/k/a Pasa Limani.
Zea Marina is one of the largest marinas in the Mediterranean and capable of accommodating superyachts. It has many shops, tavernas and cafes to service the yachting crowd. In ancient times up to 196 triremes (war ships) could dock here. In Zea Marina you visit the Hellenic Naval Museum and can see the World War II era Papanikolis Submarine.
One of the most charming sites to dine in all Athens is at Mikro Limano (“little port”), said to be protected by the goddess Mounihia Aretimis. Here is where the bike tour ends at a fish taverna located right at a marina where yachts and fishing boats park.
Tour meeting point is at 09:00 at Gate E12 (“Themistokles Terminal”) of Piraeus Port where the cruise ships dock. End point is Mikro Limano with a vehicle transfer back to where the cruise ships dock, arrive by 14:00. See map.
The bike ride is 9.0 kilometers (5.5 miles) and its highest elevation is 116 meters (380 feet). Actual biking time is about 90 minutes.
The Piraeus Lion is Piraeus’ signature landmark. The original lion was white marble and stood three meters high (nine feet). Since the 1st century AD the lion guarded the entry to Piraeus port. Water used to flow from the lion’s mouth into a cistern at its feet. The Piraeus Lion was so remarkable that in 1317 the Venetians renamed Piraeus port Porto Leone (“Lion Port”) and the ancient name Piraeus was actually forgotten and abandoned for many years.
In 1687, Commander Francesco Morosini of the Venetian navy, stole the Piraeus Lion while trying to oust the Ottoman Empire from its occupation of Greece. The Italians hauled their war booty off to Venice. Today the Piraeus Lion sits at the Arsenale, along with three other stolen Greek lions, and these awesome lions are one of Venice’s prime tourist attractions.
Piraeus regained its ancient name in the 1820s after the Greek Revolution against the Ottomans. Copies of the Piraeus Lion are found at its original port site and at the Piraeus Archaeological Museum, both included in the bike tour. There is also a copy at the Swedish Museum of National Antiquities in Stockholm.